Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Improvising Practice and tips

Default Improvising Practice and tips

I am a sophomore music major at umass lowell and i've been trying to make improvising feel more comfortable. I've spent time learning solos and memorizing licks but still find myself tripping over the changes. This results in a feeling of rigidity when soloing which keeps me from comfortably using licks or developing fluidity in my solos. So, hopefully this Thread can be used to trade practice ideas and tips.

Learn every mode over every chord/scale....it has to be done. Also spend time learning one particular standard such as all the things you are and learn it in all 12 keys!

What's your instrument?

my instrument is guitar. usually i focus on arps instead of modes, but yea i've studied arps in all inversions as well chordal inversions and i use the modes as well. however, i dont regiment that sort of practice for every standard so i will start doing that. Also, 12 key practice is something i neglect so that is deff gonna start happening. Right now, i'm practicing staying a measure ahead so i can decide what to play before i hit the chord.

Hi Luke
    I think you need to start very simply. I am assuming you have been trying to learn to improvise by practicing notated licks and notated solos. This will not help you very much at this stage, because all you will try to do is insert them or play them from memory, which is not what improvisors do. If you think of how you have a conversation with someone, neither of you write down or prepare what you are going to say before you meet. You are spontaneous, you might make a few mistakes as you are speaking but you react to what is happening (what they are saying) and respond with your reply.