Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Roman numeral option?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Roman numeral option?

    I am used to 'abstract' the function of harmonies memorizing them as roman numbers for easy transposing.

    I totally love the option to show the sheet as 'absolute' chords, relating to the key as numbers; you call it 'Number Notation' ...
    The only thing is that I am back in math class when I see the symbol as 4-7 or 2-7 or 57. I would find it way easier to get this as IV-7, II-7 or V7 as this also seem to be the good practise in theory books ...

    I am sure this is not a big deal to change in the code but would increase to read-ablity a lot (or is it only me?)

    Thank you for considering.

  2. #2

    Default

    Roman numerals have not been implemented in iReal pro (yet...)

    This may be of use to you:
    http://www.irealb.com/forums/showthr...6404#post16404
    )BOB

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pdxdjazz View Post
    Roman numerals have not been implemented in iReal pro (yet...)

    This may be of use to you:
    http://www.irealb.com/forums/showthr...6404#post16404
    )BOB
    Well, as this is the forums part for feature requests, and as I see in the thread you posted that there is a request for having the option for a 'roman display' dating back from 2011:

    I would like to ask kindly to reconsider ...
    Or, as the 'urban dictionary' would say: BUMP.
    Just that. Please pass the word.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    313

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrlzjones View Post
    I am used to 'abstract' the function of harmonies memorizing them as roman numbers for easy transposing.

    I totally love the option to show the sheet as 'absolute' chords, relating to the key as numbers; you call it 'Number Notation' ...
    The only thing is that I am back in math class when I see the symbol as 4-7 or 2-7 or 57. I would find it way easier to get this as IV-7, II-7 or V7 as this also seem to be the good practise in theory books ...

    I am sure this is not a big deal to change in the code but would increase to read-ablity a lot (or is it only me?)

    Thank you for considering.


    IV-7 and the others work well in harmony class, In the real world and almost all chord charts it's Gm7, Em7 or A7
    Last edited by raymb1; 04-07-2016 at 05:13 PM.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by raymb1 View Post
    IV-7 and the others work well in harmony class...
    Exactly! Roman numerals would be a great feature for people like me who are still in harmony class.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default Jazz students request Roman functional harmony analysis

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	480 
Size:	20.9 KB 
ID:	412

    See attached file.

    Functional Roman harmony is different from the numeral option. It helps you to pick the right scales when improvising.
    It also hepls you memorising jazz standards.

    Jazz students would be eternal thankful. 😉

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronwijnands View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	480 
Size:	20.9 KB 
ID:	412


    Functional Roman harmony is different from the numeral option.
    +1 to that

    Assuming that it may be tricky to relate the functions to the key centers - as they are sometimes ambiguous too; having only the option to look at Roman symbols would be great.

    It is just that Roman symbols are so much easier to read, separating the chords from its extensions ...
    A V7 looks way friendlier than a 57 ...

    It cannot be so difficult to do; changing the font ...

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pdxdjazz View Post
    Thanks for answering.

    Yes, this is exactly what I (and a few others, as I've seen) would like to have inside of iReal ... I am not a coder but I assume that is would not take more than one or two lines in order to change the font ...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    this is the requests I was going to post myself!!
    please IREAL do that!!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Do you have any questions?

Check out our Support page

Sign up to our newsletter
Join us