Thread: Chord type request

Default Chord type request

Could it be possible to add the chord type Major b5? (which is a major triad with a diminished fifth: 1, 3, b5 or 1, 3, #4)
    There's already a 7b5 chord type, but the Major b5 (without 7th) can open a wide range of new chords (when having different bass notes) that are not possible with the existing chord types in IRP. These chords are widely used in flamenco, fusion and modern jazz.
    This new chord type could actually replace some redundant chord types in the existing library (∆7 = ∆, m7b5 = Ø = Ø7, etc...)

I can see the advantage of having the new chord in the list but not to replace any of the other ones you mentioned. They're all different chords.

So what would be the differences in IRP between:
    1) m7b5 and Ø and Ø7
    2) Δ and Δ7

Hi CyrilleB,

I'm no expert, but I guess the nuance is that when you write Δ you are saying , "this is a I or IV chord" (if you see CΔ you are kind of free to play C, CΔ7, CΔ9, C6, etc.) and when you write Δ7, what you're saying is "This is a I or IV chord and you have to play the Seventh".
    But these are just my assumptions.

I admit, there are many possible interpretation of the ∆ symbol.
    But the most common one is that C∆ for example does include a major 7th.
    For a free interpretation of major chords (I or IV), it would just be written as C (without any symbols), so anyone could think of it as a C or C6, C6/9, C2, C5, etc...
    In IRP, I don't see any difference between ∆ and ∆7 when play by the player. Maybe the developers could confirm this.
    How about the half-diminished chords? (m7b5 vs ∅ vs ∅7), what would be the difference?

I just want to add that in jazz (and other form of improvised music), there's lots of freedom in choosing voicings and chords types. When it comes to a C or CM7 chord, it could be played C6, Cadd9, CMaj9, CMaj13, C6/9, CM7#11, and some more.