Thread: Chord suggestions based on melody line

Default Chord suggestion quality

hi all

I'm new to ireal pro and have a very basic knowledge when it comes to jazz piano , I know some chord voicing and some II-V-Is and that's it !

I understood that ireal pro gave chord suggestions when editing or composing, presumably based on some kind of algorithm.

I am editing a song and hit what I understand to be the menu for adding chords I can literally choose any possible chord / voicing rather than from a filtered list. Have I missed something ?

Thanks in advance !!

Default Chord suggestions based on melody line

Hi all,

I'm wondering whether it's possible in ireal pro to get chord suggestions based on the melody line of a song?

For example I have an acapella which I can transpose by ear, however my knowledge of jazz isn't good enough to figure out all the chords or possible alternative chords / substitutions that may work.

Any advice is much appreciated !!

Jeremy

Jeremy: Your post suggests that you don't understand how iReal Pro works.

You, the user, have a song or melody in mind. You, the user, produce a "chord chart," consisting of a series of chords that accompany the melody (it also contains the time signature, repeats, and other things). The iReal Pro app then generates an accompaiment audio track which can run while you play the melody. This simulates a whole band consisting of a melody instrument that you play (or sing) and a rhythm section of bass, drums and a chord instrument (eg. piano, organ, guitar, etc). In most cases, chord charts for particular songs are already available on the iReal Pro web site; there are charts for thousands of songs that anyone can download. However, a user can produce a chord chart by himself for any song or sequence of chords.