Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chart Accuracy

Default Chart Accuracy

I purchased this app thinking pros would be submitting the chord charts... I'm a working musician with multiple acts and sometimes don't receive the song list until just before the gig. Unfortunately I learned the hard way that the chords on some of the rock/ pop music are in no way correct. Is there somebody policing this , or did I just buy a fancy version of "chordie"????

-PT

Hi Phil,
    iRp was first developed with a focus on jazz. The perfect, pocket-sized, instantly-transposing fakebook. At first, 900 jazz-standard chord charts, then 1200...now 1300 (with more submissions daily). A player-feature was added to facilitate practice. It has become so advanced that some find the player useful in the performance setting. The chord changes in most of the jazz charts are the commonly played fakebook changes (and as you know, not all the fake/real books agree). There are many different recorded versions of songs and much discussion about what's "correct". If chord choices were limited to being either right or wrong, there'd be no jazz

iRp was never intended as a straight-from-the-source "cover-band" book. All the charts are posted by forum members, iRp users. Depending on the ears, skills and resource materials of contributor, the charts vary from "vanilla" to "as originally performed" to, I agree, sometimes, just plain "wrong". We're all here to help each other. Members often submit charts with different (what they believe are "better") chords.

The forums have grown beyond jazz and now include many submissions in pop, rock, Latin, worship, world, film, country, bluegrass, etc.
    It requires everyone's cooperation to keep the forums uncluttered, organized and useful to musicians at all levels.