Thread: Freddie Green style

Default Freddie Green style

Hello all, I'm new to iReal. And very new to jazz guitar - I'm specifically (and solely for the moment) interested in Freddie-green style rhythm chords. Can I set the chord add-on to supply only these chords?

I have the Mel Bay Deluxe Chord Encyclopedia, which includes these chords, but it'd be a whole lot easier to have the diagrams built-in to iReal.

Quote Originally Posted by mvega View Post
    Hello all, I'm new to iReal. And very new to jazz guitar - I'm specifically (and solely for the moment) interested in Freddie-green style rhythm chords. Can I set the chord add-on to supply only these chords?
    I have the Mel Bay Deluxe Chord Encyclopedia, which includes these chords, but it'd be a whole lot easier to have the diagrams built-in to iReal.
    Unfortunately there is no set of diagrams that shows you the Freddie Green chords specifically within iReal Pro.
    You might find this book useful along with the one you have:
    http://www.halleonard.com/product/vi...r&subsiteid=1&
    It does not take long to learn some of the simple shapes, then you can input some of the exercises you are learning into iReal Pro to provide a backing for you to practice with. I think you will find it fun if you have not done this already.

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.

I have the Johnson book, and it's very helpful. I started out with this one http://www.halleonard.com/product/vi...?itemid=695867, which provided a great introduction to this style.

I agree that it's best to memorize the chords to be able to play them on the fly. I'm just looking for a crutch to help ease that process ;-) Is there a way to add my own chord diagrams?

I'm a singer (from a rock background), so I suppose I get to control what keys songs are playing in anyway, right?

If you are not used to learning an instrument, here is a suggestion.